It’s nearly here!

Agency cover

Well, here we are, three days away from the launch on Kindle of Dreaming America. 2nd November – that’s my birthday btw. The paperback is due out on 16th November. It’s been a long hard journey and, to be honest, I wouldn’t want to go through this particular journey again, especially the past few weeks. Everything went wrong, especially the cover. I was sent a template and I thought I’d followed all the rules but obviously my addled aged brain didn’t quite get it. This is what I ended up with:

booboo

I wasn’t happy and also mad at myself that it ended up like this. Off centre with blurry writing. Same on the back. So I paid someone else to do it for me. She came up with the one at the top. It’s not exactly how I wanted it, certainly wouldn’t have had block capitals for the blurb on the back and my fancy title font had gone but she’d done a good job and it worked better than mine. I also didn’t have the time or energy to ask her to change it. I am happy with it, it just doesn’t look like the one in my head. Amazon link The ISBN if you want to order the paperback from your friendly local bookshop is 9780993353802

Now I wait. I’ve got definite orders for 8 paperbacks already direct from me, an extract on Writers and Authors Website from 20 December and a giveaway on Goodreads ending 16 November. I had hoped to do a library launch but I’m waiting for an appointment to have my cataracts and I wouldn’t want to let anyone down if it clashed. Maybe after Christmas. I’m also thinking about contacting Radio Lancashire to see if I can go on their morning panel show. We’ll see. I also have a book trailer:

So what now? Nanowrimo (National Novel Writing Month) starts on Sunday. Whoopee! Really looking forward to it. It’s going to be fun, I can just write what I want, and I’m so excited. It’s called Tivaterre and the tag line for it is, ‘An island with a family at its heart.’  This is the cover:

tivaterre2

Main character is Rock (real name Henry) Pelletier. He’s going to be writing a memoir called, ”Turn on, Tune in, Go Find an Island’. It will be about his hippie years in the sixties, including going to Woodstock where he met his wife Ellie and how he found out about, went to and began to live on the island. There’s also a tribe called the Tival tribe who were cleared from the island in 1939 and begin to slowly return. And lots more interesting people. I can’t wait (but I have to).

I’m also considering a new blog, just with my name so I can rant about anything I want. We’ll see.

I will let you know how the book does.

Leave a comment